Wimbledon and Putney Commons Conservators Manor Cottage Wimbledon Common London SW19 5NR

Chief Executive: Simon Lee



# MEDIA RELEASE

## Wimbledon and Putney Commons Conservators' Election 2018 Results

The election of five Conservators, as laid down in the Wimbledon and Putney Commons Act of 1871 as supplemented by the 1990 Election Bye-Laws, and administered by Electoral Reform Services (ERS), was completed at 5pm on 28<sup>th</sup> February 2018.

The Electoral Reform Services have verified this result which has also been endorsed by the Returning Officer.

The number of eligible voters was 66,179. The number of votes cast was 13,867, of which 365 were invalid, giving 13,502 valid votes.

The results, as reported by ERS, are shown below:

Peter Hirsch	7,136
Sarah-Jane Holden	7,011
Diane Neil Mills	6,545
David Hince	6,339
Shirley Gillbe	5,822
Timothy Bowen	5,472
Brian Rutherford	4,809
Jonathan Callaway	4,340
John Cameron	4,335
Andrew Bignold	3,756

The following individuals have therefore been duly elected as Conservators (Trustees) and will take up their positions on Wednesday 4<sup>th</sup> April 2018 for a three-year term of office:

Peter Hirsch

Sarah-Jane Holden

Diane Neil Mills

David Hince

Shirley Gillbe

The turnout at 21% is 4.6% higher than in the 2015 election, the increased turnout is welcomed and demonstrates that the Commons remain at the very heart of the local community. The opportunity in this election for electors to utilise electronic voting, which 46% did, has undoubtedly helped increase turnout and helped the finances of WPCC.

We would like to thank all candidates who stood for election whether successful or unsuccessful.

#### Note to Editors

Wimbledon and Putney Commons were created by an Act of Parliament in 1871. That Act provided for a Board of eight Conservators.

The principle function of a Conservator is to ensure that the Commons are kept "forever open and unenclosed and unbuilt on...[and preserved] for public and local use for purposes of exercise and recreation...".

Five Conservators are elected by those who reside in the levy paying area and contribute to the funding of the Commons, now through the payment of a "Levy" collected through their Council Tax.

Three others are appointed by central government departments – currently the Department of Environment, Farming and Rural Affairs (DEFRA), the Home Office and the Ministry of Defence

Contact: Simon Lee, Chief Executive

Tel: 020 8788 7655, E-mail: rangersoffice@wpcc.org.uk website: www.wpcc.org.uk



# REPORT OF VOTING.

## WIMBLEDON AND PUTNEY COMMONS CONSERVATORS

### ELECTION OF CONSERVATORS 2018

#### CLOSE OF VOTING: 17:00 ON 28 FEBRUARY 2018

#### CONTEST: Election of Conservators

RESULT		5 to elect
Peter HIRSCH	7,136	ELECTED
Sarah-Jane HOLDEN	7,011	ELECTED
Diane NEIL MILLS	6,545	ELECTED
David HINCE	6,339	ELECTED
Shirley GILLBE	5,822	ELECTED
Timothy BOWEN	5,472	
Brian RUTHERFORD	4,809	
Jonathan CALLAWAY	4,340	
John CAMERON	4,335	
Andrew BIGNOLD	3,756	

Number of eligible voters		66,179
Votes cast by post:	7,489	
Votes cast online:	6,378	
Total number of votes cast:		13,867
Turnout:		21.0%
Number of votes found to be invalid:		365
Total number of valid votes to be counted:		13,502

Electoral Reform Services can confirm that, as far as reasonably practicable, every person whose name appeared on the electoral roll supplied to us for the purpose of the election:-

a) was sent the details of the election and

b) if they chose to participate in the election, had their vote fairly and accurately recorded

All voting material will be stored for twelve months.

ELECTORAL REFORM SERVICES.

Page 1 of 1



The Election Centre - 33 Clarendan Road - Landon - N8 (NW - 020 8365 8909 - electoralreform.co.uk - enquiries@electoralreform.co.uk Electoral Reform Services Limited - Registered No. 2253092 - Registered Office: 33 Clarendon Road - Landon - N8 (NW